House Expresses Confidence In Ranil

On Wednesday, December 12, Parliament passed a vote of confidence in Ranil Wickremesinghe to function as the Prime Minister.  The motion was passed by 117-0 and was presented by United National Party Deputy Leader Sajith Premadasa, and seconded by Mangala Samaraweera.  Wickremesinghe’s UNP and the Tamil National Alliance voted in favour of the motion while the Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna abstained.

It's been a tumultuous time since the sudden sacking of Wickremesinghe and the appointment of former President, Mahinda Rajapaksa as Prime Minister, by President Maithripala Sirisena on October 26 this year.  UPFA MPs were not present in Parliament on Tuesday, a common occurrence since the beginning of the political crisis.

President Sirisena’s recent actions, which include the proroguing and dissolving of parliament are seen by many as unconstitutional, and the Judiciary has had its hands full, with cases and counter cases filed in court these past few weeks.

Stay Updated

Get The Recent Popular Stories Stright Into Your Inbox