The Fundamental Rights petition filed by Senior DIG Ajith Rohana challenging his transfer to Easter Province from Southern Province was today fixed for July 17 by the Supreme Court.

The Supreme Court three-judge bench comprising Justices Priyantha Jayawardena, Yasantha Kodagoda and Justice Janak de Silva fixed the petition to be taken up for support on July 17.

In his petition, Senior DIG Ajith Rohana challenges the malicious, unreasonable and unjustifiable transfer by Public Security Minister Tiran Alles.

He alleged that the Minister did all these malicious acts to harass him and protect a particular Senior DIG.

President’s Counsel Faiz Mustapha appeared for Ajith Rohana.