The writ petition filed by General Secretary of Democratic United National Front (DUNF) Ariyawansa Dissanayake seeking an order staying the Central Bank of Sri Lanka from paying a pension to the newly appointed Central Bank Governor Ajith Nivard Cabral has been withdrawn by the petitioner himself.

On Wednesday (27) when the petition was taken up for support, Counsel Moditha T.B. Ekanayake appearing for the petitioner sought Court’s permission to withdraw the petition while reserving his rights to file a fresh application. Counsel informed court that he is expecting to add more details to the petition.

Court of Appeal two-judge-bench Sobhitha Rajakaruna and Justice Dhammika Ganepola permitted the petitioner to withdraw the application and the writ petition was dismissed accordingly.

The petitioner had named Monetary Board of Sri Lanka, Central Bank Governor Ajith Nivard Cabral, Finance Minister Basil Rajapaksa, members of the Monetary Board of Sri Lanka and several others as respondents.

The petitioner said incumbent Governor Ajith Nivard Cabral nor any other past Governors of the CBSL are entitled to have a pension as the Monetary Law Act has not supplied any provision to that effect.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here