The Sri Lanka Football Federation (FFSL) today reached a settlement in the Court of Appeal enabling the Sri Lanka Football Federation (FFSL) to duly conduct an election by September 16, 2023, in order to enable Sri Lanka to participate in the Football World Cup 2023 by adhering to an amended timeline contained in an Amended Road Map.

The parties in the petition urged that the proceedings of this application be terminated on the following terms:

The regulations published in Gazette Extraordinary No. 2310/26 dated December 14, 2022, and Gazette Extraordinary No. 2310/28 dated December 14, 2022, shall not be in operation until November 1, 2023, in relation to the Football Federation of Sri Lanka (FFSL), without prejudice to the rights of any adversely affected party to seek any relief against the same, upon it being thus brought into operation with effect from November 1, 2023.

Once the regulation comes into force, the federation should take complete responsibility to establish the entire structure, which is directed by the regulations in the extraordinary gazette under 2310/26 dated December 14, 2022, and Gazette extraordinary no. 2310/28 dated December 14, 2022, and work according to the said extraordinary gazette.

The election of office bearers of the Football Federation of Sri Lanka (FFSL) in terms of the Amended Road Map will be held under and in terms of the regulations existing prior to December 14, 2022, read with the Constitution of the FFSL adopted by its general membership on September 22, 2022.

Steps will be taken to enable the election of office-bearers of the FFSL in terms of the Amended Road Map by not later than September 16, 2022, and all office-bearers elected thereunder shall have the right to hold office for the entirety of the term of their election in terms of the FFSL Constitution adopted by the general membership of the FFSL on September 22, 2022, and subject to the provision set out in Sports Law No. 25 of 1973 and the regulations promulgated therein up to December 13, 2022.

Taking into consideration the facts, Court of Appeal Justices Sobhitha Rajakaruna and M.A.R. Marikkar decided to terminate the case’s proceeding.