The No-Confidence Motion against Health Minister Keheliya Rambukwella by the Opposition was defeated with a majority of 40 votes following a three-day debate. 113 MPs voted against the non-confidence motion, while 73 voted in favor. 38 MPs were absent during the voting.

The Samagi Jana Balawegaya presented the Non-Confidence Motion to Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena against the Health Minister on July 2, 2023, with 45 signatories.

The motion was moved over the alleged irresponsible importation of ‘substandard’ medicines and surgical equipment, which led to a weakened health sector and even deaths.