The Court of Appeal today dismissed several writ petitions filed by 38 local government representatives challenging the United National Party (UNP) decision to expel them from party membership.

They were expelled from the UNP, following their decision to support Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) during the last General Election.

The United National Party (UNP) had raised objections against the petitions stating that the Court of Appeal has no jurisdiction to hear these cases since the matter concerns the Local Government Elections.

Accordingly, Court of Appeal (President) Justice Arjuna Obeysekera and Justice Mayadunna Corea decided to dismiss the petitions in limine.

These petitions had been filed by 38 Local Government representatives including  GampolaMunicipal Councilor Anura Shantha Kumara and several Colombo Municipal Councilors naming UNP leader Ranil Wickremesinghe, its former General Secretary Akila VirajKariyawasam and members of its working committee as respondents.

The petitioners stated that they supported the Samagi Jana Balawewa led by Sajith Premadasaduring the last election. The petitioners state that the UNP Working Committee has decided to expel them from party membership in an illegal manner without conducting a proper disciplinary inquiry.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here