President Gotabaya Rajapaksa has appointed an eight-member committee to probe and report on the recent LP gas leak explosions in houses, restaurants etc.

Professor Shantha Walpola of Moratuwa University will chair the committee.

The other members are Professor Ajit de Silva of the Moratuwa University, Professor W.D Jayatilaka of the Sri Jayewardenepura University, Professor Pradeep Jayaweera. Professor Narayana Sirmuthu of Inventors Commission, Dr Sudharshana Somasiri, Sujeewa Mahagama, and Deputy Inspector General of Police Deshabandu Tennekoon.

The President has directed the commission to investigate and report to the President within two weeks. The President has also directed the committee to submit its proposals to resolve the recurring problem.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here