The Government has planned to upgrade one selected hospital in each district by providing facilities such as medical treatment, theatres and laboratories existing in Sri Lanka National Hospital.

Accordingly, the district base hospitals of Mathale, Nawalapitiya, Embilipitiya,  Awissavelle, Gampaha, Mannar, Vavuniya, Killinochchi and Mullithivu governed by the Provincial Councils at present and coming under the category of tertiary health services institutions have been identified to be taken under the purview of the Ministry of Health for enhancing their quality – of – service supply, equality, and the efficiency as well as the easy performance of administrative activities.

Accordingly, the Cabinet of Ministers seconded the proposal furnished by the Minister of Health for taking those district base hospitals under the purview of the Ministry of Health to ensure accomplishment of those objectives.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here