Sri Lanka has been unanimously elected Vice President of the 78th session of the United Nations General Assembly (UNGA).

Former Chief Justice and Sri Lankan Permanent Representative to the United Nations, Mohan Peiris PC, will assume the relevant position for the Asia-Pacific region from 2023 September to 2024 September.

Sri Lanka was among the 21 countries unanimously named as Vice Presidents by all 193 member states in accordance with the following pattern: six representatives from the African states, five from the Asia Pacific states, one representative from the Eastern European states, two representatives from Latin American and Caribbean states, two representatives from Western Europe and other states, and five representatives from the permanent members of the Security Council.