The delta variant hitherto confined only to the Colombo district have now spread to other provinces as well. Health sources said.

In Colombo Health authorities have discovered three more mutations of the Delta variant and it appears to be unique to Sri Lanka.

Sri Lanka is the first country where the Delta variant with three mutations has been reported according to Health Ministry sources. Researchers have already identified three mutations of the Delta variant spreading in Sri Lanka and in the Colombo city, the Delta variant with all three mutations is dominant.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here