Nineteen districts will have the curfew lifted in their areas for 10 hours, starting at 6 a.m. tomorrow, April 16th. It will be re-imposed at 4 p.m. and will be in effect until Monday, April 20th according to a release from the Presidential Media Division.
There will be no change in the indefinite curfew imposed in the Districts of Colombo, Gampaha, Kalutara, Kandy, Puttalam and Jaffna.
Meanwhile, another communique from the Presidential Secretariat states that President Gotabaya Rajapaksa had held a meeting with several Health sector officials including the Provincial Directors of Health to discuss the possibility of resuming day-to-day economic activities in the Provinces. The possibility of resumption of economic activity in those areas is being mooted in order to safeguard the national economy.
Provincial Directors of Health have been requested by the President to make recommendations, through the Director General of Health Services on the necessary action that must be implemented to maintain normal activities in the industrial, agricultural and business sectors in their respective areas. This is with a view to relaxing the current restrictions in force in those areas.
Of particular concern, is the livelihood of daily wage earners, the communique stated.
The meeting had also discussed identifying Corona infected patients on a daily basis, those already infected in each Province and those these patients had associated with and the current process of quarantining. The communique added that the President had also inquired about the conditions at the quarantine centres.
The provincial health directors are reported to have informed the President that measures taken to combat COVID-19 in Sri Lanka are effective, when compared with other countries.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here