The Fundamental Rights petition filed seeking an order directing the authorities to take legal action against the main culprits responsible for the current economic crisis in the country was today fixed for July 5 by the Supreme Court.

The Supreme Court has already granted leave to proceed against former President Gotabaya Rajapaksa, former Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa, former Finance Ministers Basil Rajapaksa and Ali Sabry, former Secretary to the President P.B. Jayasundara, former Governors of the Central Bank Ajith Nivard Cabraal and W.D. Lakshman, former Ministry of Finance Secretary S.R. Atygalle, and the Cabinet of Ministers who were functioning in the Cabinet when the alleged impugned decisions were taken.

When the petition came up before the five-judge Supreme Court bench headed by Chief Justice Jayantha Jayasuriya, the counsel who appeared for the petitioners informed the court that it had not yet received several documents from the Central Bank. However, the Monetary Board of the Central Bank informed the court that it had already handed over these documents as per the order given by the court.

The Supreme Court had also issued an order directing the Auditor General to conduct an audit and submit a report on the Monetary Board’s decision to maintain the Sri Lankan rupee at around 203 against the US dollar and delay in seeking facilities from the International Monetary Fund (IMF). The Auditor General was further ordered to conduct an audit on the matters relating to the settlement of international sovereign bonds to the value of US$ 500 million on January 18, 2022, utilizing foreign reserves.

Three university academics, Dr. Athulasiri Kumara Samarakoon, Dr. Mahim Mendis Soosaiappu Neavis Morais, Sri Lankan swimmer and coach Julian Bolling, former Chairman of the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce Chandra Jayaratne, Transparency International, and Jehan Canaga Retna, filed these petitions urging authorities to take legal action against the main culprits responsible for the current economic crisis.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here