The motion to remove Public Utilities Commission chairman Janaka Rathnayake from his position was passed in Parliament with a majority of 43 votes.

123 parliamentarians voted in favor of the resolution, while 77 voted against it. Vadivel Suresh of the SJB voted with the government, while Rajitha Seanartne was a conspicuous absentee.