Appeal Court Judge Rathnapriya Gurusinghe, who recently appointed as one of the members of three-member Special Presidential Commission of Inquiry (PCoI) to implement recommendations and decisions made by the PCoI appointed to inquire into incidents of political victimisation, has tendered his resignation to the President.

Accordingly, Appeal Court judge Sobhitha Rajakarunahas been appointed for the vacant position by President.

Accordingly, Supreme Court Judge PriyanthaJayawardena, Supreme Court Judge KumudiniWickremasinghe and Court of Appeal Judge SobhithaRajakaruna will function as the members of this Special PCoL.

President Rajapaksa recently appointed the special PCoI through an Extraordinary Gazette dated January 29, 2021.

According to the Gazette notification the Commissioners are authorised and empowered to conduct necessary investigations and inquiries and provide the final report or an interim report with their signatures included with the relevant investigations, inquiries, recommendations and conclusions together with the foisted punishments within three months from the appointed date to the President.

The recommendations of the final reports states, that by establishment of the Commission to Investigate Allegations of Bribery or Corruption, Financial Investigations Divisions of the Sri Lanka Police of the Special Investigations Unit of the Sri Lanka Police was established contrary to the provisions of the Code of Criminal Procedure. These were established by a set of people of a political organization under the name of Anti-Corruption Committee and a National Executive Council, which was established against the Constitution of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka and contrary to the provisions of the same, with the intention of directly or indirectly retaliate the Complainants who are mentioned in the said investigation report.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here