The Supreme Court has listed 19 Special Determination petitions to be taken up for hearing on Monday (19), which were filed challenging the constitutionality of the Colombo Port City Economic Commission Bill.

These petitions will be heard before a five-judge-bench comprising Chief Justice Jayantha Jayasuriya, Justices Buwaneka Aluwihare, Justice Priyantha Jayawardena, Justice MurduFernando and Justice Janak de Silva tomorrow (19) at 10 am.

Nineteen petitions have been filed so far against the Colombo Port City Economic Commission Bill. They are; Samagi Jana BalawegayaGeneral Secretary Ranjith Madduma Bandara, SJB Parliamentarian Harshana Rajakaruna. JVP former Parliamentarian WasanthaSamarasinghe, UNP Chairman VajiraAbeywardena, UNP General Secretary PalithaRange Bandara, Oshala Herath, Dr AjanthaPerera, Jeran Jagatheesan who contested the 2020 General Election under the UNP ticket, President of BASL Saliya Pieris PC, BASL Secretary Rajiv Amarasuriya, and engineer Kapila Renuka Perera, Center for Policy Alternatives and its Executive Director Pakyasothy Saravanamuttu, Transparency International Sri Lanka (TISL), Ven. Muruththettuwe Ananda Thera and Attorney-at-law Dasun Nagashena.

The petitioners are seeking a declaration that the Bill in whole or in part requires the approval by people at a Referendum and requires a two-thirds majority in Parliament.

The petitioners said clauses 6(1)(b) of the Bill empowers the commission to facilitate and exercise overall regulatory supervision and control over all investments and businesses in and from the Area of Authority of the Colombo Port City, violating the Articles 01, 03, 04(d), 12(1), 27(2)(a), 27(3), of the Constitution bringing serious threat to the National Security in the country.

The petitioners stated that several clauses of the Bill empower the commission to Grant licences, approvals, including the approval of visas for the authorised persons or their employee


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here