President Gotabaya Rajapaksa has appointed a three-member advisory board headed by former Chief Justice Asoka De Silva to look into the injustices caused to the detainees held under the Prevention of Terrorism Act.

The other members are former Solicitor General Suhada Gamlath and former High Court Judge A.R Heyantuduwa.

The committee will go through the case records of the detainees and make their recommendations to the President.

The recommendations will include whether the persons detained under the Prevention of Terrorism Act be released after considering the circumstances, release them on bail or other remedial action be taken within the ambit of the law.

The detainees under the Prevention of Terrorism Act can now go before the advisory board.

They are entitled to air their grievances that would be perused by the Advisory Board.

The detainees are held in custody for their alleged involvement in terrorist activities.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here