A group of senior lawyers has written to the Secretary of the BASL to obtain a certified copy of the proceedings of the Commission of inquiry into political victimisation for their perusal.

The Commission of Inquiry to inquire into political victimisation comprised Upali Abeyratne (Chairman), Chandra Jayatilake and Chandra Fernando.

The group of senior lawyers all of them Presidents Counsel include K Kanag-Iswaran, Faisz Musthapa, Nihal Jayamanne, Upul Jayasuriya, Upali Gunaratne, Ikram Mohomed, Geoffrey Alagaratnam, Romesh De Silva, U.R de Silva, Saliya Peiris, and Wijeyadasa Rajapakshe.

They point out that electronic and print media have recently carried excerpts purporting to be from the report submitted to the President by the Commission to inquire into political victimisation.

Upon perusal, the group of lawyers agree that they have serious concerns that the contents of the report may undermine the rule of law in this country, impair the independence of the judiciary and erode the impartial and efficient functioning of the Attorney General’s Department.

Though W Dayaratne’s name has also been mentioned he has failed to sign the document.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here