Former Prime Minister and UNP leader Ranil Wickremesinghe will swear in as a Parliamentarian on June 23.that coincides with the 97th birth anniversary of former President R Premadasa.

The UNP secured just one national list seat at the last General Election held in August 2020.There was no decision until two weeks ago as to who should be appointed to the only national list slot won by the UNP. The Working Committee finally decided that Leader Ranil Wickremsinghe should fill the vacancy.
Mr Wickremesinghe became the  Prime Minister on five occasions during his 43-year stint as a Parliamentarian.
He entered Parliament in 1977 under the leadership of late President J.R Jayewardene. Mr jayewardene leading the United National Party (UNP) to a resounding victory in 1977, secured a 5/6 majority in Parliament.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here