President’s Counsel Romesh de Silva appearing for the JVP leader emphasized the importance of hearing this petition as much as possible.

Accordingly, the Court of Appeal two-Judge-bench comprising Justice Arjuna Obeysekera and Justice Mayadunne Corea fixed the petition to be taken up on March 30 at 9:15 am.

The JVP leader is seeking an order staying the operation of recommendations of the Presidential Commission of Inquiry appointed to probe incidents of political victimization.

In his petition, Anura Kumara Dissanayaka had cited the commissioners of Presidential Commission retired Supreme Court Judge Upali Abeyratne, retired Court of Appeal Judge Chandrasiri Jayatilake and former IGP Chandra Fernando, Commission Secretary Pearl Weerasinghe, Cabinet of Ministers and the Attorney General as respondents.

The petitioner stated that the recommendations and decisions made in several instances against the petitioner are purely on the basis that he was a member of the National Executive Council or Anti-Corruption Unit.

The petitioner stated that the recommendations of the PCoI are unreasonable, arbitrary and breach of his legitimate expectations. He further said recommendations would affect his political career.

Dissanayaka reiterated that the petitioner at no time consented to be a member of the Anti-Corruption of Inquiry.

The JVP leader stated that on an overall basis the petitioner among other persons has been found guilty of the following wrongdoings.

(A). The petitioner is said to have committed the offence of corruption in terms of section 70 of the Bribery Act.

(B). The petitioner is said to have committed offences against Public Property.

(C). The petitioner by implication is said to have wielded the influence of the Director in charge of the Anti-Corruption Committee

The petitioner is seeking an Interim Order restraining respondents from taking any steps in respect of the petitioner based on the Presidential Commission report.

The petitioner further said the Cabinet of Ministers has decided to implement the recommendations of the Commission of Inquiry dated 18th January 2021.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here