The Parliamentary Council appointed under the 20th amendment has approved the appointment of Solicitor General Sanjay Rajaratnam PC as the new Attorney General.

Current Attorney General Dappula De Livera is due to retire shortly.

This decision was taken at the Parliamentary Council meeting held under the Chairmanship of Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardane.

Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa, Leader of the Opposition Sajith Premadasa, Minister of Fisheries Douglas Devananda and Member of Parliament Kabir Hashim also attended the meeting.

The Parliamentary Council replaced the Constitutional Council appointed under the 19th amendment to the constitution which was repealed. Civil Society members also included in Constitutional Council until the 20th amendment became operational.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here