The Supreme Court today issued a stay order against the holding of local authority elections with respect to the Kalutara Pradeshiya Sabha.
This order will be effective until the final determination of a writ petition filed by Nawa Lanka Nidahas Pakshaya. Thilak Waragoda, the General Secretary of Nawa Lanka Nidahas Pakshaya, and its Authorized Agent for Kalutara, Senal Welgama, filed this petition challenging the rejection of the nominations of the Nawa Lanka Nidahas Pakshaya for the Kalutara Pradeshiya Sabha. The petitioners named the Election Commission and several others as respondents.
The respondent elections commission has been required to file any objections within two weeks and the petitioner’s counter affidavit two weeks after. The petition was fixed for argument on May 12.
The Supreme Court’s three-judge bench was comprised of Justices Preethi Padmanabhan, Gamini Ameresekera, and Janak De Silva. Senior Counsel Viran Corea and Ashiq Hassim, instructed by Anuradha Weragoda, appeared for the petitioners. Counsel Dharshana Weraduwage appeared for the elections commission.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here