The main opposition, Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) today made a complaint to the Chief Justice urging to institute contempt of court action against the commissioners of the Presidential Commission of Inquiry appointed to probe incidents of political victimisation.

The complaint consisting of 40 signatures of SJB Parliamentarians including its leader Sajith Premadasa, General Secretary Ranjith Madduma Bandara, Tissa Attanayake, Lakshman Kiriella and Sarath Fonseka was handed over to the registrar of the Supreme Court.

The President had appointed a commission of inquiry chaired by retired Supreme Court Judge Upali Abeyratne, retired Court of Appeal Judge Chandrasiri Jayatilake and former IGP Chandra Fernando to inquire into and report on allegations of victimization of public officers, employees of public corporations and members of the armed forces and the police during the period from January 8, 2015 to November 16, 2019.

The parliamentarians alleged that although the report was not officially published, it is currently in the public domain. The complainants said the report has been submitted and discussed by the cabinet of ministers and have decided to implement the recommendations of the commission.

The parliamentarians alleged that the commission has made recommendations that have an adverse and damning effect on the rule of law, democratic governance, the judiciary, the office of the Attorney General, law officers of the State and members of the unofficial Bar.

The parliamentarians further said on June 22, 2020, the Attorney General has informed the commission by a written communiqué that the commission has no jurisdiction to go into complaints made by private individuals.

The commission has in many other matters pronounced that persons who have been convicted by courts should not have been so convicted that accused persons who are now being tried in courts are innocent and should be acquitted and discharged and further criminal proceedings should not be continued against them.


The Parliamentarians alleged that three persons who functioned as the commissioners in a Commission have blatantly violated the terms of the reference and made recommendations that are diabolically dreadful and influenced the judicial process of the Courts of law.

The parliamentarians are urging Chief Justice to institute contempt of court proceeding against commissioners of the Presidential commission under Article 105(3) of the constitution.

The parliamentarians finally urge the Supreme Court to make an order to strike off the names of Upali Abeyratne and Chandrasiri Jayathilake from the roll of attorneys at law of the Supreme Court.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here