Firecrackers were set off as supported of the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) celebrated its landslide victory at the 2020 parliamentary election.
The SLPP won a total of 145 seats, and therefore received a majority in the new parliament that is set to meet on August 20.
It’s main opponent the United National Party failed to bag a single seat. However, its breakaway party the Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) managed to get 54 seats at the parliament through votes.
The Election Commission took all precautions to ensure that the election was virus-free. This helped the country to maintain the average of 70 per cent voter turnout. 71 per cent of the total registered voters polled on Wednesday (05).
Find full results here


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here