The current dispute between the General Secretary of the Sri Lanka Podu Peramuna  (SLPP) and the Energy Minister was likely to figure at the meeting of the Cabinet of ministers today.

Meanwhile, eight constituent parties of the SLPP condemned attempts made by the SLPP to blame the Energy minister for the fuel price hike.

In a statement issued they said the decision to raise the fuel prices was taken at a meeting of the Cabinet Sub Committee on the Cost of living headed by the president and the Prime minister.

Elaborating on the issue the eight parties pointed out that holding the Energy Minister responsible for the “unpopular decision” taken by the government had placed the coalition government in an awkward position publicly.

The statement by the SLPP general secretary challenging the decision taken by the President and the Prime Minister has raised concerns among the people over possible factionalism within the ruling party.

It added that the statement made by the SLPP General Secretary challenging the decision made by the President and the Prime Minister raises concern among the public over divisions within the ruling party.

The joint statement was signed by Venerable Athuraliye Rathana Thero from the Ape Janabala Party, Minister Wimal Weerawansa from the National Freedom Front, Minister Vasudeva Nanayakkara from the Democratic Left Front, (MP) Prof. Tissa Vitharana from Lanka Sama Samaja Party, (MP) A.L.M. Athaulla from the National Congress, Dr G. Weerasinghe from the Communist Party of Sri Lanka, Tiran Alles and Asanka Nawarathne.

The SLFP and the EPDPhas refrained from signing the document.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here