In his letter dated April 19, the Attorney General has directed the IGP to record a statement from DIG Deshabandu Tennakoon and include him in the list of suspects who attacked the Gota Go Gama on the 9th of May last year.

The AG has also directed the IGP to submit the amended list of suspects to the court.

He has said that there is evidence against him for dereliction of duty and failure to avert a clash.

Currently, thirty-two suspects have been charged in connection with this incident, and in addition to them, Mr. Deshbandu Tennakoon has also been included as a suspect.

The Attorney General has informed the Inspector General of Police, C. D. Wickramaratne, by letter dated April 19, and the list of suspects who have been charged has also been presented in that letter.
Accordingly, thirty-two suspects, including former ministers Johnston Fernando, Sanath Nishantha, Member of Parliament Milan Jayathilake, and former mayor of Moratuwa Samanlal Fernando, Dan Priyasad, Wasantha Handapangoda, and Mahinda Kahadagama, who have been confirmed to have attacked the Gotagogama Aragalaya ground on May 9, 2022, have been arrested.

Also, Attorney General Sanjay Rajaratnam has mentioned in this letter that evidence has been received that Deputy Inspector General of Police Tennakoon failed or omitted his duty to stop the move by the above suspects to create havoc. However, it has been mentioned that the suspects Manjula Prasanna, Ramesh Bhanuka Fernando, Chamath Thivanka Kariyawasam, and Inoka Nishantha de Mel have not been charged as suspects in this case, so they should be excluded from this case. The Attorney General has also directed the police to relax the travel ban imposed on them.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here