The Supreme Court today granted leave to proceed with two Fundamental Rights petitions filed challenging the imposition of a police curfew on July 9, 2022, in the western province, preventing protestors from arriving in Colombo.
The Supreme Court’s three-judge bench, comprising Justices Preethi Padman Surasena, Shiran Goonaratne, and Mahinda Samayawardena, granted leave to proceed under Articles 12(1) (right of equality), 14(1) (freedom of speech and expression), 14(1) (freedom of peaceful assembly), 14(1) (freedom of association), and 14(1) (freedom of movement).
Senior Counsel Thishya Weragoda, Hijaz Hisbullah, Prathap Welikumbura, Dilan Nalaka, Yasanga Senadheera, Shiffan Maharoof, and Chamodi Wijeweera appeared for the petitioners.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here