Sri Lanka’s National Parks are set to reopen with various restrictions on June 15, Monday, where the number of vehicles entering a park will be limited and vary according to the location.

For instance when the Yala and Udawalawe National Parks reopens, only a 150 vehicles will be allowed in per day.

The newly released guidelines by the Department of Wildlife Conservation to contain the risk of the Corona virus spreading, only 80 vehicles will be allowed into the Wilpattu National Park.  Meanwhile, the Minneriya, Kaudulla and Wasgamuwa Parks will allow only 50 vehicles per day.

In the case of the Hortons Plains, only 50 groups will be allowed each day, while 50 boats will be allowed to visit the Pigeon Island National Park.

“All directives and guidelines approved by the Government regarding COVID-19 pandemic and the rules enforced by the department must be strictly followed by the departmental staff, visitors, guides, and safari drivers,” the DWC stated also warning that “Individuals and groups who are not complying with the measures will not be provided with visitor facilities.”

Meanwhile, the Bundala, Horagolla, Lunugamvehera, Galoya, Kumana, Angammedilla, Galway’s Land, Maduru Oya ,Lahugala, and Hikkaduwa National Parks will be reopened on June 22, and wildlife bungalows and campsites on June 29.

The public can also check the number of vehicles that enter the parks using the android app “NPTraffic” (available on or by visiting the official website of the department.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here