The Supreme Court today issued an interim order preventing the Treasury Secretary, Attorney General, who is representing the President, and any other state official from withholding any funds allocated for the purpose of conducting local government elections in 2023.

The Supreme Court’s three-judge bench, comprising Justices Preethi Padman Surasena, Janak De Silva, and Priyantha Fernando, made this order consequent to a Fundamental Rights petition filed by Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) General Secretary Ranjith Madduma Bandara. The Supreme Court further granted leave to proceed with this Fundamental Rights petition.

President’s Counsel Upul Jayasuriya appeared for the petitioner. Additional Solicitor General Priyantha Navana appeared for the Attorney General. Saliya Pieris, PC, appeared before the Election Commission.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here